I Will Never Download TikTok. Here is Why

It is not for privacy reasons

Alice White
3 min readOct 15, 2020
Photo by Kon Karampelas on Unsplash

TikTok has been around since 2016 and has become quite a sensation around the world.

But I still haven’t checked it out. I know nothing about it except that it’s a popular video app. And I don’t want to know more.

I know I’m not the only one. There are plenty of people not giving a damn about the app. Some people are just not that interested in new trending social media apps or video format in general.

But I seem to be the ideal candidate to become a TikTok user.

I used to love Vine and Musical.ly when they were popular, and I’ve been addicted to Instagram for around 5 years.

So why haven’t I tried TikTok yet?

I’ve been struggling with my relationship with social media for many years now.

Being an active social media user has a lot of downsides.

Some of the ones I was facing for years were comparing myself to others, an unhealthy obsession with perfecting everything I post, a decrease in willpower, and constantly feeling like I’m not doing or achieving enough.

Even though I knew that the reason for my problems was my use of social media, I still struggled to get off of it.

--

--

Alice White

Big fan of reading and writing. Here to write about self-improvement, relationships, books, productivity, and more.